The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey. Login to browse without most ads.

1989 RHD Galant VR4 Brakes Needed

VE1337

Hello everyone, I am new to using forums so I apologize if I’m in the wrong place.

Front brakes are frozen in an 89 AWD and hoping someone can point me in the right direction of pads, rotors, and calipers.

Since it’s an 89 and an import, find parts online is proving a bit of a challenge.

Any one got any good places to start? Thank you!!

Along Vr4

Hello everyone, I am new to using forums so I apologize if I’m in the wrong place.

Front brakes are frozen in an 89 AWD and hoping someone can point me in the right direction of pads, rotors, and calipers.

Since it’s an 89 and an import, find parts online is proving a bit of a challenge.

Any one got any good places to start? Thank you!!
Have Picture?

gvr4ever

Does the 89 have duel piston fronts? All the sources I've found, the US is pretty much out of stock, but the 3000GT SL front brakes fit US spec Galant VR4s. As stated, you can upgrade, but will need 17" wheels to clear the 3KGT-VR4 brakes. Not sure about the EVOs.

r4pt0x

That's not a valid VIN. What market was that car destined for?

E39A turbos usually had the 2-piston calipers with 275mm discs. Part numbers for calipers are MB699450/MB699451 (L/R), discs MB618340 (replaced with MB895098) and the caliper supports are MB618218. The Sigma also had the same brakes, at least all DOHC variants, some of the cheaper SOHC variants had a smaller brake.
You can easily upgrade that brake to the 294mm variant by using the larger supports e.g. from the Outlander CW0+ (CU0 also had the 275mm front brakes). The Calipers from all Outlanders are also basically the same 2-piston calipers, except depending on the exact generation they don't have a banjo screw for the brake lines, so you'd need custom brake lines (e.g. from goodridge).